GBS Databases

Oxford Very Short Introductions

Browse these Very Short Introductions for great reference information about a variety of issues.

Very Short Introductions
- This link opens in a new window

Library Chat

Hours: 7:00am-4:30pm Mon. - Thurs.

7:00am-4:15pm Fri.

(When school is in session)

LIVE Help from GBS Librarians during school hours!

Not all resources are equally useful or relevant to each subject, so be willing to try different resources and modify your search strategy as you go along.

Oxford English Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
"The definitive record of the English language."
An excellent resource for exploring the meaning and history of words and how they change over time.
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
How have abstract ideas evolved over time and in different places? A great resource for looking at ideas in historical and philosophical contexts. **Use search box on left, not at top of page.**
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
10 volumes. A superb resource.
**Use the search box to the left to enter your search term. This will bring up every instance of your term in all 10 volumes.**
Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high-quality articles on authors and their works, including critical, biographical and contextual information, covering all time periods and from around the world. Useful for looking at literary themes and ideas.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Great resource for scholarly articles.

ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, and journals.

Keyword Suggestions

Here are some keywords to consider:

Remember to use quotation marks for phrase searching.

American Dream "the good life"

role responsibilities well-being

happiness moral*

empathy/sympathy value of, meaning of life

compassion accountability

benevolence relationship roles

success*

parental expectations AND children AND demands OR pressure

EBSCOHost Research Databases

Click on image to access EBSCO databases available through the end of November.

1. Log in (see a librarian for login info.).

2. Click on EBSCOHost Research Databases in left column.

3. Check boxes next to MEDLINE, Academic Search Complete and Psychology and Behavorial Sciences Collection, and click "Continue".

4. Switch to advanced search, check "full text" box and enter search terms.

Try-It! Illinois

Click on image to access trial databases through the month of November. Please see a librarian login information.

Home Access to Databases

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.

If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:

If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:

Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.

If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.

**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.

ENG 363 - Death of a Salesman (Glass): GBS Databases