LibGuides: Definition Paper: Helpful GBS Database & Web Resources

Love

Photo by Noel Zia Lee. Flickr creative commons.

Some Resources from the Web

The Atlantic
Has some great essays and in-depth coverage of events and ideas.
The New Yorker
In depth exploration of current events, essays, fiction, poetry, and more. Ms. Jacobson's favorite magazine.

Helpful Resources (GBS Databases)

These resources have been helpful to other students working on this project.

Not all resources are equally useful or relevant to each subject, so be willing to try different resources and modify your search strategy as you go along.

And remember, the librarians are always here to help you.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"The definitive record of the English language."
An excellent resource for exploring the meaning and history of words and how they change over time.

Oxford Reference--Religion & Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
How have abstract ideas evolved over time and in different places? A great resource for looking at ideas in historical, religious, and philosophical contexts.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy & the Social Sciences (eBook) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
10 volumes. A superb resource.
**Use the eBook Index search box to enter your term. This will bring up every instance of your term in all 10 volumes.**

General Reference Center Gold (dates vary)
- This link opens in a new window
"General interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications."

Useful for examining real-world examples to incorporate into your essay to help you develop your arguments. Try the subject guide search!
ProQuest (dates vary)
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, and journals.

Also useful for examining real-world examples to incorporate into your essay to help you develop your arguments.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Great resource for scholarly articles.

JSTOR @ Home (dates vary)
- This link opens in a new window
Use this link to access JSTOR when you're not at school.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high-quality articles on authors and their works, including critical, biographical and contextual information, covering all time periods and from around the world.

Useful for looking at literary themes and ideas.

Home Access to Databases

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.

If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:

If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:

Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.

If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.

**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.