Latin American History & Culture: Precolumbian/Colonial History
Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library (e-book)
- Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library. Sonia G. Benson, Sarah Hermsen, and Deborah J. Baker, eds. Detroit: UXL, 2005Search by eTable of Contents, keyword, or eIndex.
This resource requires passwords for Home Access. See box below for access information.
Home Access to Databases
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
GBS Library World History Database Resources
These resources require passwords for Home Access. See box at bottom left for access information.
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for historical and cultural research.
- History eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive e-book reference collection. Search by keyword or subject guide. - Discovering Collection: World HistoryBrowse by topic or search the collection by keyword or subject.
- World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers history from the Renaissance to today.
Web Resources
- Exploring the Early Americas (Library of Congress)"Features selections from the more than 3,000 rare maps, documents, paintings, prints, and artifacts...It provides insight into indigenous cultures, the drama of the encounters between Native Americans and European explorers and settlers, and the pivotal changes caused by the meeting of the American and European worlds."
- Mesoweb: An Exploration of Mesoamerican Cultures"Mesoweb is devoted to the ancient cultures of Mexico and adjacent Central America, including the Olmec, Zapotec, Mixtec, Teotihuacan, Toltec, Aztec, and Maya."
- Aztec Culture: An Overview (Michael E. Smith, Arizona State University)"This essay is based on several encyclopedia entries I have written over the past few years. One reason for posting this work on the internet is the poor quality of the entry for “Aztec” in the Wikipedia."
- Vanished Worlds, Enduring People (Cornell University Library)"The exhibition features many of the collection’s finest books and manuscripts, as well as photographs, artwork, and related materials covering a period of more than four centuries."
- Mesoamerican Art from Prof. Manuel Aguilar (CSU-Los Angeles)Website for a "lecture course that surveys the art and architecture of the ancient civilizations of Precolumbian Mesoamerica, from the time of the Olmec through that of the Maya and Aztecs."
- Parallel Histories: Spain, the United States, and the American Frontier"A bilingual, multi-format English-Spanish digital library site that explores the interactions between Spain and the United States in America from the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries."
Aztec Calendar
"Aztec Calendar at the Anthopology Museum in Mexico City." Michael McCarty. 2008. flickr. Used under Creative Commons license.
Historic Cities of the Americas (e-book)
This resource requires passwords for Home Access. See box at far left for access information.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574