LibGuides: Social Issues & Pro/Con Databases: Social Issues Databases

Social Issues & Pro/Con Resources

Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text resources on a broad spectrum of social issues.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explores key issues in American history as well as the key players and the battles they fought.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social, scientific, economic, and political issues. Contains full-text articles selected from newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications.
ProCon.org This link opens in a new window
Nonpartisan site exploring the pros and cons of controversial issues.
Gale Global Issues This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International perspectives on a wide array of global issues, topics, and current events including social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Gale Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of reference articles, science journals, and science news resources, as well as multimedia. Covers biology, environmental science, chemistry, health & medicine, technology, and physics & astronomy.

Database Key

: Contains primary sources.

: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.

: Requires username & password from home.

: Text-to-Speech function.

: Contains audio.

Home Access to Databases

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.

If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:

If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:

Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.

If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.

**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.