It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Urban Studies--Chicago Now Project: Home/Getting Started
"Our mission is to promote, honor and celebrate the legacy of A. Philip Randolph and contributions made by African-Americans to America's labor history. At our facility this celebration begins with the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, as we educate the public about their legacy and contributions. "
"From 1890 to 1920 there were over one hundred-fifty African-American women's clubs in Chicago. Although this time period is typically characterized as the "women's club era," that does not serve as an adequate explanation for why so many clubs developed in the African-American neighborhoods of Chicago. Why did African-American women create so many clubs? What political and social purposes did they serve? Which women joined these clubs? And how might we assess their contributions today? "
"This multimedia essay presents two excerpts and accompanying commentary from the film Goin' to Chicago, a documentary which takes as its subject the African American migration out of the Jim Crow South during the twentieth century."
"ChicagoAncestors allows users to browse by address, intersection, or keyword...This interactive digital resource has data that includes locations for synagogues, Roman Catholic and Lutheran churches, along with information on where to access the records and bibliographies for each of Chicago’s 77 community areas, and more."
"Chicago: The City in Art is a collaborative project between The Art Institute of Chicago and the Chicago Public Schools. The program is designed to introduce teachers and students to recently restored murals in their schools."
"The Hall of Fame recognizes the volunteer and professional achievements of lesbians and gay men, their organizations, and their friends, as well as their contributions to the lesbian and gay community and to the City of Chicago."
"Most Chicagoans were anxious to help the war cause. Thousands of young men volunteered for induction the following morning, but those who were indifferent quickly learned that there was no way to remain isolated from involvement on the home front. On the most personal family level, virtually everyone worried about friends, neighbors, and loved ones in the service. By mid-1944 each Chicago block had an average of seven men or women in the military."
"On these pages you will find digital images from the Chicago Public Library’s special collections. Highlights include construction views of Millennium Park, a visual record of Civil War battlefields, photographs of Harold Washington, documents from the Chicago Renaissance and pictures of Chicago neighborhoods. "
"Gang Research.net dedicated to providing quality research on gangs to students, academics, public officials, the media, and the general public....Gangresearch.net seeks to dispel stereotypes and present research, original documents, and helpful links." Many of the resources relate directly to Chicago. Created by John Hagedorn, Department of Criminal Justice, UIC.
"Images, essays, and interactive panoramas of the city, before and after the fire. The "Web of Memory" pages present eyewitness accounts, media coverage, and the factual evidence behind the charge that Mrs. O'Leary's cow was to blame."
"The digital collection presents images of key documents and artifacts in their historical context with a minimum of interpretive information. Much like the witness testimony and exhibits introduced during the Haymarket trial, these primary sources are pieces of evidence which enable the user to reconstruct and interpret the historical events to which they relate. "
"This on-line history resource builds on “The Labor Trail: Chicago's History of Working-Class Life and Struggle,” a map of 140 significant locations in the history of labor, migration, and working-class culture in Chicago and Illinois."
Excellent resource for exploring leisure activities from music and dance to museums and parks to shopping, and much more. **This site is linked through the Wayback Machine. If you have any trouble accessing it, contact Ms. Jacobson or one of the other librarians.
Chicago collections include "1893: Chicago and the World's Columbian Exposition," Chicago Defined: Space and Place, Homes and Journeys", "Chicago Workers during the Long Gilded Age", "Faith in the City: Religion and Urban Life in Chicago, 1870-1920" and "Subversives in the City: Responses to Political Radicalism in Chicago."
"This collection comprises over 55,000 images of urban life captured on glass plate negatives between 1902 and 1933 by photographers employed by the Chicago Daily News, then one of Chicago's leading newspapers. "
"This archive currently contains digitized issues of the South Street Journal, a local community newspaper that has been a powerful voice of the Southside Community; several years‘ worth of back issues, dating from 1993 to 2006, have been donated to Columbia University for this project."
"In an unprecedented investigation, the Tribune analyzed a decade of zoning changes to detail how real estate interests have funneled millions of dollars to the aldermen who dictate what can be built. The series has examined how aldermen ignore city planners and frustrated residents as they frequently permit new and bigger buildings that leave neighbors in their shadows."