AP Environmental Science - Energy Proposal: Home
**The Gale databases/ebooks are great places to get background articles, videos, images and audio clips. They also have magazine and journal articles. Don't forget to grab the citation before you go!**
How Does Your State Make Electricity?
Check out this article recommended by Ms. Pavic!
Database/Ebook Sources
- Gale Global Issues This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Learn about current events in a global context. - Gale Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of reference articles, science journals, and science news resources, as well as multimedia. Covers biology, environmental science, chemistry, health & medicine, technology, and physics & astronomy.
- Energy: Supplies, Sustainability and Cost (ebook)
- This link opens in a new window
Presents the latest information on U.S. energy consumption and production, compared with years past. Controversial issues such as the U.S. dependence on foreign oil, the possibility of exhausting fossil fuel supplies, and the harm done to the environment by mining, drilling, and pollution are explored. - Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States (ebook)
- This link opens in a new window
Details current geographical, social, and political data, historical narrative, and statistical information on the 50 states, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and Caribbean and Pacific dependencies of the United States. Maps, tables, flags and official state seals are included.
- ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes all ProQuest databases. Thousands of resources.
Home Access
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username (ID number only) and password to log in. Use the same username & password you use to log into all other GBS resources (Power School, library lab computers, etc):
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
Online News Sources
- New York Times
Arguably the most influential paper in the US.
The editorial page leans slightly to the left but they have regular columnists on staff whose worldviews come from a broad cross section of the mainstream left & right.
- Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
The gold standard for business and finance journalism.
The editorial page has the motto "free markets, free people" so their commentators generally reflect this worldview. Several key mainstream republican thinkers are among the regular contributors.
**Requires password for access. Click on the Key icon for details**
- Axios
"Axios gets you smarter, faster with news & information that matters." - Washington Post
The best news resource for Washington, DC politics. This is the paper that broke the Watergate scandal.
The editorial page leans center left. - Washington Post via ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
use your GBS username (for students, ID number only) and password to access from home.
**Requires password for access. Click on the Key icon for details**
Wildlife/Environmental Websites
- Energy.gov
-use search at top right
Google Search
GBS BigSearch
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574