American Experience: Justice & Social Change
Primary Sources
Major American History Collections & Resources
These collections of primary sources include material related to all of the history topics on the guide.
Historical Newspaper Subscription Databases
**All Newspaper Subscription Databases require a login with your GBS ID (number only, no @glenbrook) and GBS Password from home**
-
Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1987) This link opens in a new window
Note: The LA Times is a great resource for California/West Coast news.
Asian American Publications and Digital Repositories
-
Densho Digital Repository
Hear the story of the Japanese American incarceration experience from those who lived it, and find thousands of historic photographs, documents, newspapers, letters and other primary source materials from immigration to the WWII incarceration and its aftermath. -
South Asian American Digital Archive
Archive of resources documenting, preserving, and sharing stories of South Asian Americans
Chicano Rights Movement
Disability Rights Movement
Environmental Movement / Environmental Justice
-
Earth Day '70: What It MeantReflections on the impact of Earth Day on its 10th Anniversary (April 1980)
LGBTQ Rights Movement
Native American Rights Movement & Native Hawaiian Rights
-
Occupation of Alcatraz Collection (Bay Area Television Archive, 1969-1971)Local newsfilm and documentaries relating to the Native American occupation of Alcatraz Island (1969-71).
-
Kalama Valley StrugglePhotographs from Native Hawaiian activist, Ed Greevey
Women's Movement
A Vassar Notebook, 1970
Made by professor and founder of the Film Department James Steerman and his students, "A Vassar Notebook" comprises a series of vignettes of life at Vassar in 1970. Most are humorous...while others evoke a sense of the unrest of the period.
-
Feminist Publications
Over 75 magazines, newsletters, and newspapers created by activists and collectives that helped propel the second wave of feminism from the late sixties and early seventies through the end of the 20th century. -
Women’s Liberation Movement Print Culture
Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574