US History-Living History Project: Cold War
<
Magazine and Newspaper Databases
Use the ProQuest Historical Newspapers Complete and World New Digest for newspaper articles from the Cold War era. Search ProQuest News, Magazines, & Journals for more recently published magazine articles on your topic.
See the McCarthy Era Anticommunist Drive--World News Digest research guide linked below for more specific information on that topic.
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more detail.
- The McCarthy-Era Anticommunist Drive--World News Digest
This link opens in a new window
Use this guide to access news reports and information about atomic security, Hollywood and the News media, Senator McCarthy,the Alger Hiss Case, and more.
- ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes all ProQuest databases. Thousands of resources. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Dates Vary) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes historical coverage of New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, and more. - World News Digest (1940 to Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
U.S. and World News from 1940 to the present.
Subject Reference Sources
Subject Database resources related to the Cold War.
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- The Cold War: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford University Press)
- This link opens in a new window
Browse chapters or search by keyword. *Excellent* resource for background information. - Dictionary of American History--Cold War
- This link opens in a new window
Brief but through overview of the Cold War. - Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction--Cold War
- This link opens in a new window
Well-organized and informative brief overview of the Cold War. - Issues & Controversies in American History--McCarthyism
- This link opens in a new window
Is Senator Joseph McCarthy's effort to root out communists from government and entertainment institutions a legitimate response to a communist threat? Or is his campaign a baseless political witch hunt? - Issues & Controversies in American History--The Marshall Plan
- This link opens in a new window
Should the U.S. lead a multibillion-dollar effort to help rebuild Europe following World War II, or is such a program essentially a welfare program for Europe that will fuel international conflicts? - Issues & Controversies in American History-Cold War Containment Policy
- This link opens in a new window
Should the U.S. allow the Soviet Union to continue to expand, try to reverse the course of Soviet expansion, or contain Soviet communism within its existing borders?
The Century: America's Time: 1946-1252
Database Type Key
: Contains primary sources.
: Great resource for beginning research.
: Contains news and/or other current events resources.
: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.
: Requires username & password from home.
: Text-to-Speech function.
: Contains audio.
Web Resources
- Guided Readings--Post-War America, 1946-1960 (Digital History-University of Houston)
Examines the origins of the Cold War; the implementation of the Containment policy; the Korean War; and fear of Communist subversion at home. It also traces the beginnings of the Civil Rights movement; the emergence of youth culture; and postwar cultural critics, including the Beats
Cold War in Europe
- For European Recovery: the 50th Anniversary of the Marshall Plan (Library of Congress)
Excellent resource for exploring the origins and effects of the Marshall Plan. - Berlin Airlift--Harrry S. Truman Presidential Library & MuseumThis collection focuses on the Berlin Airlift. It includes 126 documents totaling 444 pages covering the years 1948 through 1952.
- Communism and Better Life: Poles Found Wait Too Long (1981)
- This link opens in a new window
Home Access to Databases
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username (ID number only) and password to log in. Use the same username & password you use to log into all other GBS resources (Power School, library lab computers, etc):
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
Origins of the Cold War
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574