US History-Living History Project: Civil Rights
Subject Reference Databases & E-Book Resources
Subject Database & E-Book resources related to the Civil Rights Movement. *
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- Civil Rights Movement Portal (US History in Context)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Well organized collection of primary and secondary sources. Highly recommended. - "The Civil Rights Movement" American Social Reform Movements Reference Library (eBook)
- This link opens in a new window
- "Civil Rights Act of 1964" in Dictionary of American History (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- "Voting Rights act of 1965"--Issues & Controversies
- This link opens in a new window
- "On Civil Disorders"--Annals of America
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Excerpts from the "Report of the National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders, Washington, 1968." (Kerner Report). - "Race Rioting Erupts in Detroit, July 23, 1967-July 30, 1967." (Research in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use the Biography Reference Bank Select to find biographical information on key figures in the Civil Rights Movement. Also links to related journal & news articles.
Hint: "Current Biography" is the best biographical resource in the database.
- Black Power Movement Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Well organized collection of primary and secondary sources. Highly recommended.
Newspaper & Magazine Databases
Use the ProQuest Historical Newspapers Complete and World New Digest for newspaper articles about the Civil Rights Movement. Search ProQuest News, Magazines & Journals for more recently published magazine articles on your topic.
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Dates Vary) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes historical coverage of New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, and more. - ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes all ProQuest databases. Thousands of resources. - World News Digest (1940 to Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and World News from 1940 to the present. - Gale U.S. History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An excellent place to begin research. Includes reference sources, Magazine & Journal articles & primary sources.
A Time for Justice
Continuity & Change: 1945-1980
Database Type Key
: Contains primary sources.
: Great resource for beginning research.
: Contains news and/or other current events resources.
: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.
: Requires username & password from home.
: Text-to-Speech function.
: Contains audio.
Web Resources
There are many excellent internet sites that explore the Civil Rights Movement. The following are a few of the best.
- Civil Rights Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
The CRDL promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others... - African American Odyssey: The Civil Rights Era, Part 1 (Library of Congress)
- This link opens in a new window
Part One includes sections on Desegregation & Civil Rights in the Arena and on the Stage. - African American Odyssey: The Civil Rights Movement, Part 2 (Library of Congress)
- This link opens in a new window
Part Two includes information and documents about Sit-ins, Freedom Rides, and Demonstrations. - Civil Rights Era Timeline, 1954-1970--African American World (PBS)
Accessed via the Wayback Machine. May take a few seconds to load. - Remembering Jim Crow (American Radio Works)
- This link opens in a new window
Excerpts of oral histories of African Americans who lived under the Jim Crow laws.
Key Figures
- How the Greensboro Four Sit-In Sparked a Movement
When four Black students refused to move from a segregated Woolworth's lunch counter in 1960, nation-wide student activism gained momentum. - Reflections on the Greensboro Lunch Counter (6:42)
Civil Rights activists Joseph McNeil, Diane Nash, and John Lewis reflect on the history and legacy of the lunch counter from the F. W. Woolworth department store in North Carolina and the sit-in campaign that began on February 1, 1960. - Civil Rights Activist John Lewis: Looking Back (4:28)
Student activist Jonathan Butler and Congressman John Lewis sit down to discuss the Eyes on the Prize series and the Civil Rights Movement - Rosa Parks Papers (Library of Congress)
- This link opens in a new window
"The papers of Rosa Parks (1913-2005) span the years 1866-2006."
Home Access to Databases
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574