US History-Living History Project: 1960s: Kennedy Administration
John F. Kennedy Inaugural Address [detail] (Wikimedia Commons)
Subject Reference Sources
Subject Database & E-book resources related to the New Frontier and the Kennedy Administration.
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- "The Innocent 1960s: Politics in the Kennedy Years "-- The Sixties in America Reference Library (e-book)
This link opens in a new window
The 1960 election, Kennedy's dream, Peace Corps, the Cuban Missile Crisis, Kennedy's assassination & more. - Bay of Pigs Invasion--Dictionary of American History (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
Brief overview of the event. - "Cuban Missile Crisis." Americans at War (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
Brief overview of the events and major players. - Cuban Missile Crisis--Dictionary of American History (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed overview of the crisis. Includes information on Castro, Khrushchev, the Bay of Pigs, and more. Includes illustrations. - "Berlin Wall" Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
History and assessment of the wall. - "Kennedy Assassination
- This link opens in a new window
Magazine and Newspaper Databases
Use the Kennedy Era: Historical Newspapers Graphical as well as ProQuest Historical Newspapers Complete and World New Digest for newspaper articles from the Kennedy era. Search ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals for more recently published magazine articles on your topic.
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more detail.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Dates Vary) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes historical coverage of New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, and more. - World News Digest (1940 to Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
U.S. and World News from 1940 to the present. - Gale U.S. History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An excellent place to begin research. Includes reference sources, Magazine & Journal articles & primary sources. - ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes all ProQuest databases. Thousands of resources.
The Century: America's Time: 1960-64 Poisoned Dreams
Database Type Key
: Contains primary sources.
: Great resource for beginning research.
: Contains news and/or other current events resources.
: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.
: Requires username & password from home.
: Text-to-Speech function.
: Contains audio.
Web Resources
- Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962: The 40th Anniversary--National Secuity Archive, George Washington University
- This link opens in a new window
Declassified documents, minute-by-minute timeline, photos, and analysis. - The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Commercials 1952-2008
- This link opens in a new window
"The Living Room Candidate contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952...This innovation had a permanent effect on the way presidential campaigns are run."
Home Access to Databases
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
Continuity & Change: 1945-1980
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574