US History-Living History Project: Nixon Administration
President Richard Nixon Departing the White House on the Presidential Helicopter, Marine/Army One, for the Last Time as President, August 9, 1974 (detail). Public Domain
Subject Reference Databases & E-Book Resources
Subject Database & E-Book resources related to Richard Nixon & his presidency.
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- Nixon, Richard Milhous (American National Biography)
This link opens in a new window
- Watergate Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- "Détente: A Lessening of Tensions"--Cold War Reference Library (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
Thorough overview of the concept of détente and its global implications and effects. - "Détente"--Encyclopedia of Russian History
- This link opens in a new window
Brief overview of the topic. - Watergate Affair Betrayal of American Democracy or Overblown Political Scandal? (Issues & Controversies in American History)
- This link opens in a new window
- Annals of America
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains several primary documents related to the Nixon presidency, including several related to the Watergate affair, foreign policy, and Nixon's resignation and pardon.
Keyword searchable.
Newspaper & Magazine Databases
Use the Nixon Administration: Historical Newspapers as well as ProQuest Historical Newspapers Complete and World New Digest for newspaper articles written during the Nixon Administration. Search ProQuest News, Magazines & Journals for more recently published magazine articles on your topic.
See the Watergate Scandal--World News Digest for an excellent research guide to the scandal.
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Dates Vary) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes historical coverage of New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, and more.
- Watergate Scandal--World News Digest
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An excellent overview of the scandal. Covers the events and their effect on American politics. Includes news articles, overviews of events, and more.
- World News Digest (1940 to Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
U.S. and World News from 1940 to the present. - Gale U.S. History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An excellent place to begin research. Includes reference sources, Magazine & Journal articles & primary sources. - ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes all ProQuest databases. Thousands of resources.
The Century: America's Time: 1971-75 Approaching The Apocalypse
Database Type Key
: Contains primary sources.
: Great resource for beginning research.
: Contains news and/or other current events resources.
: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.
: Requires username & password from home.
: Text-to-Speech function.
: Contains audio.
Web Resources
Here are some very good Nixon Administration related websites.
- Nixon's China Game--American Experience (PBS)
Explores the 1972 meeting between President Nixon and Chairman Mao. Includes a timeline, maps, profiles of the major figures in the event, and recommended resources. - The Pentagon Papers: Secrets, Lies and Audiotapes (The Nixon Tapes and the Supreme Court Tape)--National Security Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Documents and recordings related to the "Pentagon Papers" case. - Woodward and Bernstein Watergate Papers (University of Texas at Austin)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes selections of Woodward and Bernstein's notes from source interviews, drafts of newspaper stories and books, memos, letters, tape recordings, research materials, and other Watergate papers. - Recalling Nixon's Resignation (National Public Radio)
Broadcasts of stories commemorating the 25th anniversary of Nixon's resignation - The Living Room Candidate
- This link opens in a new window
"The Living Room Candidate contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952...This innovation had a permanent effect on the way presidential campaigns are run."
Home Access to Databases
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
Continuity & Change: 1945-1980
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574