Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

US History-Living History Project: Vietnam War

Reference, primary sources, news coverage, and web resources to help you contextualize the period of U.S. history you are researching.

Vietnam War menorial

Washington DC: Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall (detail). Wally Gobetz, 2009. (CC-by-NC-ND-2.0)

Subject Reference Databases & E-Book Resources

Subject Database & E-Book resources related to the Vietnam War. 

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.

Newspaper & Magazine Databases

Use the Vietnam War: Historical Newspapers as well as ProQuest Historical Newspapers Complete and World New Digest for newspaper articles about the the Vietnam War both in in the field and on the home front. Search ProQuest News, Magazines & Journals for more recently published magazine articles on your topic.

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.

Ken Burns & Lynn Novick The Vietnam War is the Key to Understanding America

Database Type Key

primary : Contains primary sources.

starter : Great resource for beginning research.

News : Contains news and/or other current events resources.

scholarly : Contains articles from academic and professional journals.

: Requires username & password from home.

: Text-to-Speech function.

: Contains audio.

Web Resources

Home Access to Databases

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. 

If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:

If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:

Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.

If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form  so we can fix it.


**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.

 

Vietnam War


4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574