LibGuides: US History-Living History Project: 9/11 and the War on Terror

Subject Reference Databases & E-Book Resources

Subject Database & E-Book resources related to the "war on terror".

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.

Declaration of War on Terrorism, George W. Bush, 2001 (Annals of American History)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
9-11 and Its Aftermath Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Free Speech Is Not Under Attack in Post-9/11 America "--The Bill of Rights (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
"[Journalist] Gregg Easterbrook contends that many people decrying the diminishment of free speech misunderstand the First Amendment. Freedom of speech means that all Americans are free to air their views but should not expect to be spared from criticism and ridicule from others, he argues".
Detainees' Rights: Should suspected terrorists detained by the U.S. government have a right to a trial in civilian courts? (Issues & Controversies)
- This link opens in a new window
Torture Report: Were the interrogation methods used by the CIA against suspected terrorists justified? (Issues & Controversies)
- This link opens in a new window
The Rise of ISIS: The Modern Age of Terrorism (eBook)
This book explores the creation of the Islamic terrorist group ISIS, its rise to power, and what is being done by nations around the world to stop its members from taking more lives

Newspaper & Magazine Databases

Use ProQuest News, magazines & Journals for national and international newspaper coverage of the "War on Terror" and its effects on civil liberties, the treatment of prisoners in military conflicts (including Guantanamo Bay), and national security and profiling issues. Search Platinum Periodicals for magazine articles and journal articles on these and other issues related to the War on Terror" .

World News Digest has several excellent research guides that are linked below.

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.

ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes all ProQuest databases. Thousands of resources.
World News Digest (1940 to Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and World News from 1940 to the present.

Treatment of Detainees in the 'War on Terror'--World News Digest
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Excellent research guide to the issues related to detainee treatment. Includes overviews of legal concepts, military tribunals, news coverage, primary source documents and more.

Afghanistan: Fighting the Forever War

The Modern Era (1980-Present)

Database Type Key

: Contains primary sources.

: Great resource for beginning research.

: Contains news and/or other current events resources.

: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.

: Requires username & password from home.

: Text-to-Speech function.

: Contains audio.

Social Issues Databases

These are terrific resources for researching issues of privacy and civil liberties as they relate to the War on Terror, Guantanamo Bay, and the post 9/11 era.

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text resources on a broad spectrum of social issues.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social, scientific, economic, and political issues. Contains full-text articles selected from newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications.

Web Resources

Harsh Detention for Afghan Prisoners (BBC)
- This link opens in a new window
Camp X-Ray in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba has "stirred debate about the role of the Geneva Conventions (an international agreement barring torture, abuse, and indeterminate detention of prisoners of war) in modern warfare."
The Next Phase in the War on Terror Is Here (Foreign Policy)
"But talk of Guantánamo, “extreme vetting,” and ending the Diversity Immigrant Visa Program is just a distraction from the real threat."
The Long War on Terror (David Rieff)

Home Access to Databases

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.

If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:

If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:

Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.

If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.

**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.