US History-Living History Project: 1960s: Late 60s
National Guard and police, Detroit Riots July 1967 [detail], Image: Howard Bingham/The LIFE Picture Collection/Getty, online: Cris Wild: Remembering the Detroit Riots of 1967 (CC by 2.0)
Great Society & the War on Poverty
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- Effects of the Great Depression: LBJ's Great Society
This link opens in a new window
In depth overview of the issues, perspectives, and notable people. - Full Text of LBJ's Great Society Speech, 1964 (with commentary).
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Great Society and the War on Poverty (Issues & Controversies in American History)
- This link opens in a new window
News Resources, Magazines, & Journals via GBS Databases
Use the Turbulent 60s as well as ProQuest Historical Newspapers Complete and World New Digest for newspaper articles written during the 1950s. Search General One File and Platinum Periodicals for more recently published magazine articles on your topic.
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Dates Vary) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes historical coverage of New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, and more. - World News Digest (1940 to Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Gale U.S. History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An excellent place to begin research. Includes reference sources, Magazine & Journal articles & primary sources.
Music of the 1960s
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- 1960s: Music (Bowling, Beatniks & Bell Bottoms
- This link opens in a new window
- All About the Folk Revival (Thought Co.)
A basic introduction to the 1960s American folk music revival. - Folk Music (St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture)
- This link opens in a new window
- Rock ‘n’ roll and “moral panics” – Part One: 1950s and 1960sDr. Steve Williams, associate professor of sociology, gives us an abridged history of rock ‘n’ roll and its association with social climates and social movements.
The Century: America's Time: 1965-70 Unpinned
Continuity & Change: 1945-1980
Database Key
: Contains primary sources.
: Great resource for beginning research.
: Contains news and/or other current events resources.
: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.
: Requires username & password from home.
: Text-to-Speech function.
: Contains audio.
Hippies & Social Unrest in the late 1960s
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- 1960s Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Well organized collection of primary and secondary sources. Highly recommended. - Hippies Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
Loads of groovy and informative resources. - Hippies
- This link opens in a new window
In the 1960s, thousands of mostly white, middle-class young people "dropped out" of mainstream society to live in hippie communities throughout the U.S. They opposed the materialism and conformity of the 1950s and the Vietnam War of the 1960s, advocating peace and love instead. Were the hippies a force for social change or simply troubled young people? - Heat and Light podcast
From the students who challenged their schools’ military connections and the tortured set up of American TV’s first interracial kiss to the roots of Silicon Valley and the beginning of the end of the “traditional” American family. What was just heat? What brought light, too?
Assassinated political leaders of the late 1960s
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. See Home Access box at the bottom of the page for more details.
- Robert F. Kennedy Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Well organized collection of primary and secondary sources. Highly recommended. - Martin Luther King, Jr. Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Well organized collection of primary and secondary sources. Highly recommended. - Malcolm X Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Well organized collection of primary and secondary sources. Highly recommended.
Home Access to Databases
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574