US History-Living History Project: 2008 Economic Crisis
Anonymous @ Million Mask March, Boise ID. Nov 5, 2013. Protest rally 99% anon Guy Fawkes sign occupy. (2013). Wikimedia Commons.
GBS Database Resources
- Financial Crisis of 2008
This link opens in a new window
Portal of dozens of resources related to the 2008 crisis. - The Great Recession (St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture)
- This link opens in a new window
- subprime mortgage (Britannica)
- This link opens in a new window
- home equity line of credit (HELOC)
- This link opens in a new window
- Occupy Wall Street (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
Top US News Sources (Databases & Websites)
Use the date limiters in the GBS Databases to locate articles written at the time of the Great Recession for primary source research.
Most news sites will let you sort results by date or relevance. Use the Date option for primary sources.
- Chicago Tribune (from 1985) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Requires GBS Username (number only) and password for home access.
- New York Times
Requires an account to access >10 articles per month. See sign up instructions below - Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
**Many articles will require a username and password for access. Click on the key icon for more information.** - Washington Post via ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
use your GBS username (for students, ID number only) and password to access from home. - The Economist Magazine (via ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Requires GBS Username (ID Only) and password from home.
- ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Requires GBS ID (Number only) and password from home.
Meltdown: The Men Who Crashed the World (CBC)
Database Key
: Contains primary sources.
: Great resource for beginning research.
: Contains news and/or other current events resources.
: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.
: Requires username & password from home.
: Text-to-Speech function.
: Contains audio.
Web Resources
- U.S. Economy: To the Brink and Back (CNN Money)
"A timeline that captures events leading to the financial crisis, the Great Recession and the Federal Reserve’s unprecedented moves to save the U.S. economy from going into a tailspin." - Great Recession
Excellent overview of the recession. - The Great Recession Is Still With Us (Atlantic)
The downturn left the country poorer and more unequal than it would have been otherwise. - The Great Recession (Federal Reserve History)Lasting from December 2007 to June 2009, this economic downturn was the longest since World War II.
- The Real Cost of the 2008 Financial Crisis (The New Yorker)
The aftermath produced a lost decade for European economies and helped lead to the rise of anti-establishment political movements here and abroad. - Global Fears of a Recession Grow (NYT, October 6, 2008)
This link opens in a new window
Home Access to Databases
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username (ID number only) and password to log in. Use the same username & password you use to log into all other GBS resources (Power School, library lab computers, etc):
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
The Modern Era (1980-Present)
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574