LibGuides: Latin American History 161: Enrique's Journey Project: News Resources, Magazines, & Journals

Research Tips

When using the databases, make sure to use quotation marks: "Central America" "unaccompanied minors"

As you're reading, be sure to write down the names of any experts as well as important people and organizations related to your topic to refine your research and gather more information. Google the names of these people and/or organizations to find out more about them. This is where Google is your friend.

Remember, in news resources, opinion pieces (op eds) and editorials and columnists want to persuade you to adopt their point of view. Be sure that you understand which parts of their pieces deal with facts and which parts are the author's opinions.

Also, check out the Latin American News guide for articles from across the globe. Includes resources in Spanish and English.

News Resources, Magazines, & Journals

Chicago Tribune News in Education (last 30 Days) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the last 30 days of the print version (with graphics). For earlier dates, click the link below. See the GBS Library Passwords sheet for login information for the current Chicago Tribune.
Chicago Sun Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
**Requires email sign up for access**

Chicago Tribune (from 1985) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes all ProQuest databases. Thousands of resources.
Gale Global Issues This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learn about current events in a global context.
World News Digest (1940 to Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes periodicals in Spanish and English.

Database Key

: Contains primary sources.

: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.

: Requires username & password from home.

: Text-to-Speech function.

: Contains audio.

Home Access to Databases

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.

If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:

If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:

Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.

If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.

**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.