Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Video Creation Guide

Managing Your Video on YouTube

Publishing a video on YouTube is a bit different than publishing via other applications.  In most cases uploading your video is your final step, but for YouTube it is instead the first step.  Since you don't need to worry about outputting your video into various formats when using YouTube to edit, this portion of the guide will focus on sharing and discoverability.

YouTube has three different privacy levels for videos: 

  • Public videos and playlists can be seen by and shared with anyone.
  • Private videos and playlists can only be seen by you and the users you choose.
  • Unlisted videos and playlists can be seen and shared by anyone with the link.
Feature Unlisted Private Public
Can share URL Yes No Yes
Can be added to a channel section Yes No Yes
Shows up in search, related videos, and recommendations No No Yes
Posted on your channel No No Yes
Shows in Subscriber feed No No Yes

 

To change the privacy setting on your video:

  1. Go to your Video Manager.
  2. Find the video you want to change, then click Edit.
  3. In the "Privacy Settings" drop-down menu, choose Public, Private, or Unlisted.
  4. Click Save changes.


4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574