Skip to main content

Sociology 161: Crime and Deviance--Semester Final Project: Places to get Started

Research Tips for getting started

Use these databases to get familiar with your topic. These sources should be mined for key words and specific information that will help narrow your topic. Be sure to take advantage of the different resources on your topic, such as any bibliographies provided, links to related resources and news articles and organizations that deal with your topic.

Remember, viewpoint articles are opinion pieces designed to persuade. Be sure that you understand which parts of these pieces deal with facts and which parts are the authors' opinions. 

If you have any questions, ask Ms. McGuinness or a helpful librarian for clarification.

Great Places to Start your Research

eBook Resources on Key Topics

Database Key

primary : Contains primary sources.

starter : Great resource for beginning research.

News : Contains news and/or other current events resources.

scholarly : Contains articles from academic and professional journals.

: Requires username & password from home.

: Text-to-Speech function.

: Content exports into Google Drive.

: Contains audio.

Home Access to Databases

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. 

If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username (ID number only) and password to log in. Use the same username & password you use to log into all other GBS resources (Power School, library lab computers, etc):

If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:

Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.

If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form  so we can fix it.


**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.

 


4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574