Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Background & Biography Information Resources: Biography, Encyclopedia & Dictionary Resources

Links to excellent resources for exploring topics and biographies from all subject areas.

All Databases marked with the key icon  are subscription resources & require your GBS Login & Password for Home Access.

Biography Resources

Remember that there are often excellent biographies in Subject Databases (Art, Music, History, etc).

Great Places to Start

All Databases marked with the key icon  are subscription resources & require your GBS Login & Password for Home Access.

Database Key

primary : Contains primary sources.

starter : Great resource for beginning research.

News : Contains news and/or other current events resources.

scholarly : Contains articles from academic and professional journals.

: Requires username & password from home.

: Text-to-Speech function.

: Content exports into Google Drive.

: Contains audio.

Home Access to Databases

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. 

If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:

If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:

Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.

If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form  so we can fix it.


**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.

 


4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574