Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 363--Spring Research (Neu): Start your Research Here

Tips for getting started

As you're reading, be sure to write down the names of any experts as well as important people and organizations related to your topic to refine your research and gather more information. Google the names of these people and/or organizations to find out more about them. This is where Google is your friend. 

If a particular study is discussed, see if you can find the original research or a good summary of it; Universities and other institutions will often post studies in the news or very good summaries of the research on their web sites.  

Remember, in the Opposing Viewpoints database, viewpoint articles are just that: the writer's viewpoint. Similarly, in news resources, opinion pieces (op eds) and editorials and columnists want to persuade you to adopt their point of view. Be sure that you understand which parts of their pieces deal with facts and which parts are the author's opinions. 

Good Resources for Getting Started

Database Key

primary : Contains primary sources.

starter : Great resource for beginning research.

News : Contains news and/or other current events resources.

scholarly : Contains articles from academic and professional journals.

: Requires username & password from home.

: Text-to-Speech function.

: Content exports into Google Drive.

: Contains audio.

News Resources, Magazines, & Journals

Home Access to Databases

All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password. 

If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username (ID number only) and password to log in. Use the same username & password you use to log into all other GBS resources (Power School, library lab computers, etc):

If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:

Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.

If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form  so we can fix it.


**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.

 


4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574