American Experience:Me to We (Modern America) Final Project: Historical News & Other Primary Sources
Resources for researching modern history and creating engaging learning experiences
Historical Newspapers & More
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Dates Vary) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes historical coverage of New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, and more.
**Requires GBS ID (number only) and password for home access** - ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes all ProQuest databases. Thousands of resources.
Tips for finding primary source material in ProQuest Newspapers
-
Be sure to use search terms that would be used at the time you are looking for (example: UFOs used to be called flying saucers. I would use both terms to make sure I'm not missing relevant articles) - Wait! How do I find out what terms are appropriate for the period I'm searching? Answer: Background research
- Always use the Publication date limiters to make sure you are only getting results from the period you are researching:
- New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
Requires sign up to avoid paywall. See instructions below:
- Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
**Requires password for access. Click on the key icon for information. You must be logged into your GBS Google account to access the password sheet.**
Some Primary Source Sets on Specific Topics
- Explore Chicago Collections
Explore Chicago Collections' unified search lets you find archival collections and digital images at member institutions all over the Chicago area. - This Is How the Internet Reacted to Two Planes Crashing Into the WTC on 9/11/01
Briefly contextualizes the Metafilter community blog and links to it.
For instructions on accessing GBS Library Resources on this page marked with a key 
click on the right side of this image and scroll down:
Images and Audiovisual Resources
- LIFE Magazine
1936-1972 - Jet Magazine Archives
1951-2008
- Ad*Access
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955
Internet Archive Resources
- Music Magazines from the Internet Archive
From 1969-Present - Understanding 9/11: A Television news Archive
Explore 3,000 hours of international TV News from 20 channels over 7 days, and select analysis by scholars. Includes a summary video of key events. - Internet Archive:The VHS Vault
A wide collection of trailers, shows, recordings, and other captures on VHS tape.
Other Primary Source Resource Sets
- History Matters
Excellent advanced search feature for primary source documents.
- The Schlager Anthology of Black America: A Student's Guide to Essential Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
- Digital Public Library of America Resource Sets
- This link opens in a new window
"Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more."
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574