Biology 163 - Endangered Species: GBS Databases and eBooks
Dolovis. "Polar Bears Snuggling." Wikimedia Commons, 29 Nov. 2012. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Polar_bears_snuggling,_Arctic_National_Wildlife_Refuge_(8229599099).jpg.
Chat With Us!
Popular Magazines:
Requires GBS username (for students, ID number only) and password from home.
Contact a Librarian:
Lauren Gruber: lgruber@glenbrook225.org
Kris Jacobson: kjacobson@glenbrook225.org
Christi Shaner, Head Librarian: cshaner@glenbrook225.org
Home Access
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username (ID number only) and password to log in. Use the same username & password you use to log into all other GBS resources (Power School, library lab computers, etc):
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
GBS Databases
Search for your animal here:
- UXL Endangered Species
This link opens in a new window
This 3rd edition, featuring 38 new species, reflects changes in the endangered and threatened status of the 242 species profiled.
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (eBook) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community." 17 Volumes.
- Endangered Species: Protecting Biodiversity
- This link opens in a new window
Discusses what has been done to protect endangered species in the United States and around the world, and examines the debate over what future actions are warranted. - Endangered Species: A Documentary and Reference Guide
- This link opens in a new window
This work examines the values, policies, challenges, and approaches to endangered species conservation over the past 200 years.
Search for current news about your animal in these:
- Gale Global Issues This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learn about current events in a global context. - Gale Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of reference articles, science journals, and science news resources, as well as multimedia. Covers biology, environmental science, chemistry, health & medicine, technology, and physics & astronomy. - SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social, scientific, economic, and political issues. Contains full-text articles selected from newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574