English 273 - Current Issues (Kim): Background/Databases
GBS Big Search
Social Issues Databases
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text resources on a broad spectrum of social issues. - Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. - SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social, scientific, economic, and political issues. Contains full-text articles selected from newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications.
Tips for Success
Use these databases to get familiar with your topic. These sources should be mined for key words and specific information that will help narrow your topic. Consult each source bibliography and links to related resources for more research.
Remember viewpoint articles are opinion pieces designed to persuade. They should not be entirely avoided, but they should be evaluated for bias and are most helpful to evaluate solutions.
Home Access to Databases
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username (ID number only) and password to log in. Use the same username & password you use to log into all other GBS resources (Power School, library lab computers, etc):
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574