English 263/463 - Current Issues (Kim): Background/Databases
Start Here With Social Issues Databases
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Full-text resources on a broad spectrum of social issues. - SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Social, scientific, economic, and political issues. Contains full-text articles selected from newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
Tips for Success
Use the databases to the left to get familiar with your topic. These sources should be mined for key words and specific information that will help narrow your topic. Look at each article's bibliography/reference list and/or links to related resources for more information.
Remember viewpoint articles are opinion pieces designed to persuade. They should not be entirely avoided, but they should be evaluated for bias and are most helpful to evaluate solutions.
Home Access to Databases
For instructions on accessing GBS Library Resources on this page marked with a key 
click on the right side of this image and scroll down:
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574