English 363 - The Things They Carried (Bolf): Home
Vietnam War
“Vietnam War.” National Archives and Records Administration, National Archives and Records Administration, www.archives.gov/research/vietnam-war#event-/timeline/item/letter-from-ho-chi-minh-to-president-harry-truman.
“On The Rainy River” and The Draft
- The DraftTopic overview from St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
- Almanac:The 1969 Draft LotteryBrief video from CBS Sunday Morning
- Conscientious ObjectorsTopic overview from Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War
- Muhammad Ali Refuses the Vietnam War DraftBrief video from PBS
- Pardon for Vietnam Draft Evaders (21 January 1977, by Jimmy Carter)Topic overview from Dictionary of American History
“The Things They Carried,” or “How to Tell a True War Story” and Guerilla Warfare
- Guerrilla WarfareBrief article from Greenhaven Encyclopedia of The Vietnam War
- Guerrilla Tactics: An OverviewArticle from the PBS website
- Vo Nguyen GiapEncyclopedia article from Britannica about General Vo Nguyen Giap, Vietnamese military and political leader
- Excerpt of People's War, People's ArmyExcerpt from General Vo Nguyen Giap's 1963 essay, "People's War, People's Army"
- Cu Chi TunnelsBrief article from Greenhaven Encyclopedia of The Vietnam War
“Speaking of Courage” and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Post-Traumatic Stress DisorderDisease overview from Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
- Combat Stress Among Veterans Is Found to Persist Since VietnamNewspaper article from New York Times
- Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)Brief article from Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and Vietnam VeteransBrief video and transcript from Iowa PBS
- How a Vietnam Veteran overcame PTSD and survivor’s guiltArticle and brief video from U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)
“Style,” “Spin,” and “Field Trip” and South Vietnamese Civilians
- The War's Effect on the Vietnamese Land and PeopleEvent overview from Vietnam War Reference Library
- Enemies and AlliesArticle from Atlanta History Center
- Civilian Operations and Revolutionary Development Support (CORDS)Agency overview from Greenhaven Encyclopedia of The Vietnam War about the agency tasked with winning the "hearts and minds" of South Vietnamese civilians
- Interview with Le Thi Ton, 1981Brief video and transcript from WGBH's Open Vault. Le Thi Ton was a Vietnamese villager. She describes a U.S. attack on her hamlet in which all her family members were killed.
“Sweetheart of the Song Tra Bong” and the My Lai Massacre
- My Lai MassacreEvent overview from Violence in America
- My Lai MassacreTopic overview from UXL Encyclopedia of U.S. History
- Daily Summary, March 17, 1968Government document from The Vietnam Era
- Music of My LaiArticle about the songs of the era that specifically reference the massacre. Embedded YouTube videos allow you to hear some of these songs.
- My Lai Officer Apologizes For MassacreAudio story and transcript from National Public Radio (NPR)
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574