Academy English 393 - Research Project: Reference Resources
Philosophy & Religion Database and e-book Resources
All of these resources require your GBS ID (number only) and password for home access.
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy & the Social Sciences (e-book) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"The cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource." 10 Volumes.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica (e-Book)
22 volumes. An excellent reference source.
- Very Short Introductions (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory."
Philosophy Reference Sources on the Web
Art & Music Reference Sources
These resources require your GBS ID (number only) and password for home access.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 40,000 image links and 5,500 images. - Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for information about music styles and genres as well as composers & musicians.
Database Key
: Contains primary sources.
: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.
: Requires username & password from home.
: Text-to-Speech function.
: Contains audio.
Home Access to Databases
All GBS Library databases and e-books are accessible from home with your GBS Username & Password.
If you see the screen shown below, use your GBS username and password (the same ones you use to login to the GBS computers & Power School) to log in:
If you don't see this screen but are still asked for a username and password:
Click HERE** to access the old-school password list and use the passwords on the list to log in.
If you are having login trouble, please let the Library know by filling out this brief Login Problems Form so we can fix it.
**You will have to be logged into your GBS Google Apps account to access the document.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574