Magazines, Newspapers, Journals & Great Places on the Web - Academy English 393 - Research Project

Secrets of Super Searchers: Database Searching

Secrets of Super-Searchers (tips for web searching and database searching):

More specific keywords lead to more specific results. If you're interested in research on how people assess physical beauty, combine search terms that reflect what you're seeking, for example: beauty AND psychology AND research.
Database Tip: Each database is a bit different, but if you can select feature articles, cover stories, essays, you will get more targeted results than if you don't use the limiters. In JSTOR, choose Articles to avoid book reviews.
If you find that authors are using different (or additional) terms to describe your topic, use the terms you find in your search. (e.g. many authors & researchers use wealth and/or income when describing money as it relates to individuals), search again using the terms you find.

All of these resources require your GBS ID (number only) and password for home access.

ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes all ProQuest databases. Thousands of resources.
Chicago Tribune (from 1985) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scientific American This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for popular science articles, blogs, videos, and more

All of these resources require your GBS ID (number only) and password for home access.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Great resource for scholarly articles.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high-quality articles on authors and their works, including critical, biographical and contextual information, covering all time periods and from around the world.

: Contains primary sources.

: Contains articles from academic and professional journals.

: Requires username & password from home.

: Text-to-Speech function.

: Contains audio.

Longform articles are non-fiction pieces that go into depth about a particular topic.

The New Yorker
Weekly magazine known for its in-depth exploration of cultural, economic, and political issues. Many articles are the product of months of research. It also features essays by notable authors as well as fiction, poetry & those legendary cartoons.
The Atlantic
Excellent resource for in-depth coverage and analysis of social and political issues. The site includes links to articles from the monthly magazine as well as web-only content.
Longreads
Longreads features the best storytelling on the web from hundreds of publishers. Includes fiction & nonfiction.
Aeon
Excellent resource for thoughtful works exploring culture, science, society and the arts.

On Being
Big conversations to moments of discovery.
Includes Audio.
Hidden Brain
Shankar Vedantam uses science and storytelling to reveal the unconscious patterns that drive human behavior, shape our choices and direct our relationships.

MS is meticulously destroying me. I am being unmade by Paraic O'Connell
"In this moving essay, the writer charts the progression of his Multiple Sclerosis against the changing seasons. "
Who Apes Whom?-- Frans De Waal
Primatologist de Waal reflects on the notion of humanity: "we keep assuming that there is a point at which we became human. This is about as unlikely as there being a precise wavelength at which the color spectrum turns from orange into red."
What a Fraternity Hazing Death Revealed About the Painful Search for an Asian-American Identity--Jay Caspian Kang
When Michael Deng, a college freshman, joined an Asian-American fraternity, he was looking for a sense of belonging and identity. Two months later he was dead.
How Helicopter Parenting Can Cause Binge Drinking--Caitlin Flanagan
"The way some white professionals raise their children is exacerbating an alcohol problem on U.S. college campuses."