Sociology Research Resources: Scholarly Journals & More
Grand Central Station, New York. 2017. Public domain.
Databases and Scholarly Resources
- ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Our largest database. Thousands of resources. A great place to start your research.
***Requires GBS ID (number only) and password for Home Access***
- Sociology Journal Collection (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A set of sociology journals from ProQuest.
***Requires GBS ID (number only) and password for Home Access***
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Great resource for scholarly articles.
***Requires GBS ID (number only) and password for Home Access***
- Digital Commons Network: Sociology Commons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
- Socius: Sociological Research for a Dynamic World
- This link opens in a new window
Open Access journal from the American Sociological Association
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
- This link opens in a new window
- CityLab
A collaborative effort between Bloomberg, the Atlantic, and researchers in many subject areas who specialize in city issues.
- The Conversation
"The Conversation is an independent, nonprofit publisher of commentary and analysis, authored by academics and edited by journalists for the general public." Includes a lot of social science research.
Reference eBooks
Reference eBooks are a great place to find background information such as:
-
overviews of topics
-
key concepts and theories
-
names of important people and organizations
- Crime, Prisons, & Jails, 2018
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding crime, prisons, and jails.
***Requires GBS ID (number only) and password for Home Access***
- Women in America, 2018
- This link opens in a new window
Explores the lives of women in American society.
***Requires GBS ID (number only) and password for Home Access***
- Race and Ethnicity in America, 2018
- This link opens in a new window
Examines the differences between minority groups and white Americans across the economic, political, and social spectrums.
***Requires GBS ID (number only) and password for Home Access***
For instructions on accessing GBS Library Resources on this page marked with a key 
click on the right side of this image and scroll down:
Great Sources of In-Depth Journalism
- New York Times
Arguably the most influential paper in the U.S.
- Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
**Requires password for access. Click on the key icon for information. You must be logged into your GBS Google account to access the password sheet.** - The New Yorker
Weekly magazine known for its in-depth exploration of cultural, economic, and political issues. **See Flipster box below for unlimited full text access** - The Atlantic
Excellent resource for in-depth coverage and analysis of social and political issues. **See Flipster box below for unlimited full-text coverage** - Longreads
Longreads features the best storytelling on the web from hundreds of publishers. Includes fiction & nonfiction.
Use to access full text of the The Atlantic and the New Yorker. 
Requires GBS username (for students, ID number only) and password from home.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574