US History: Living History Project (2024)
Reference, primary sources, news coverage, and web resources to help you contextualize the period of U.S. history you are researching.
Resource Icon Key
For instructions on accessing GBS Library Resources on this page marked with a key 
click on the right side of this image and scroll down:
Resources for students
Background / Overviews
- G.W. Bush: Address to a Joint Session of Congress and the American People (9/20/2001)
This link opens in a new window
The original "War on Terror" address,
Domestic Impacts
- Two Decades Later, the Enduring Legacy of 9/11
Extensive opinion poll data and context - Born to take on Islamophobia
Muslim Americans who endured post-9/11 bias see solutions in education, political involvement - House cafeterias change names for 'french' fries and 'french' toast
- This link opens in a new window
|
|
|
After The Terror Attacks On 9/11, Muslims In ChicagoWere Targeted, Lived In Fear (9:55) |
The first night at ground zero (4:57) |
Treatment of Detainees
- Abu Ghraib survivor: Taking the hood off 20 years after Iraq war
A former detainee at the notorious Abu Ghraib prison in Iraq recounts the horror and pain of his incarceration two decades after the war. Includes video - Treatment of Terrorism Detainees
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Excellent research guide to the issues related to detainee treatment. Includes overviews of legal concepts, military tribunals, news coverage, primary source documents and more.
Top US News Sources (Databases & Websites)
Use the date limiters in the GBS Databases to locate articles written at the time of 9/11 and the War on Terror for primary source research.
Most news sites will let you sort results by date or relevance. Use the Date option for primary sources.
- New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
Requires an account to access >10 articles per month. See sign up instructions below - Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
**Many articles will require a username and password for access. Click on the key icon for more information.** - Washington Post via ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
use your GBS username (for students, ID number only) and password to access from home. - The Economist Magazine (via ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Requires GBS Username (ID Only) and password from home.
- ProQuest News, Magazines, and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes all ProQuest databases. Thousands of resources.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574