US History: Living History Project (2024)
Reference, primary sources, news coverage, and web resources to help you contextualize the period of U.S. history you are researching.
Resource Icon Key
For instructions on accessing GBS Library Resources on this page marked with a key 
click on the right side of this image and scroll down:
GBS Historical News Databases
All historical news resources require your GBS username (ID number) and GBS password for home access
- Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1987) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Dates Vary) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes historical coverage of New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, and more.
Late 1960s (Great Society, Hippies & More)
Overviews/Background
- 1960s articles & resources from History Channel
The 1960s was one of the most tumultuous and divisive decades in world history. The era was marked by the civil rights movement, the Vietnam War and antiwar protests, countercultural movements, political assassinations and the emerging "generation gap."
The Century: America's Time: 1965-70 Unpinned (45:00) |
Continuity & Change (10:17) |
The Great Society
- Effects of the Great Depression: LBJ's Great Society
- This link opens in a new window
In depth overview of the issues, perspectives, and notable people. - Full Text of LBJ's Great Society Speech, 1964 (with commentary).
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Additional Videos
The 60s: The Years That Changed America (5:38) |
American Experience: Summer of Love Chapter 1 (8:00) |
Political Assassinations
History in Context portals are well-organized collections of primary and secondary sources. Highly recommended.
- Malcolm X Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Martin Luther King, Jr. Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Robert F. Kennedy Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hippies and Social Unrest in the 1960's
- Hippies Portal (US History in Context)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Loads of groovy and informative resources.
History in Context portals are well-organized collections of primary and secondary sources. Highly recommended. - The Summer of Love Wasn’t All Peace and Hippies
Articles in the underground press capture what’s missing from our romanticized memory of that fateful season. - The Flowering of the Hippies (September 1967)
- This link opens in a new window
Music of the 1960s
- Rock ‘n’ roll and “moral panics” – Part One: 1950s and 1960sDr. Steve Williams, professor of sociology, gives us an abridged history of rock ‘n’ roll and its association with social climates and social movements.
- 1960s: Music (Bowling, Beatniks & Bell Bottoms)
- This link opens in a new window
- Folk Music (St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture)
- This link opens in a new window
- All About the Folk Revival (Thought Co.)
A basic introduction to the 1960s American folk music revival.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574