Sociology 161: Crime and Deviance--Semester Final Project: Start with Background research & Journalism
Research Tips for getting started
Begin with Background research
**Choose Books on the results page to gather background information**
Other good places to start searching for background information:
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Excellent source for preliminary research. Pro/Con format plus added news and information features. Be sure to check out the Editorials and Multimedia sections for your topic.
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social, scientific, economic, and political issues. Contains full-text articles selected from newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications.
Reference eBook Resources
Reference eBooks
Reference eBooks are a great place to find background information such as:
-
overviews of topics
-
key concepts and theories
-
names of important people and organizations
- Crime, Prisons, & Jails, 2018
Focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding crime, prisons, and jails.
***Requires GBS ID (number only) and password for Home Access***
- Women in America, 2018
Explores the lives of women in American society.
***Requires GBS ID (number only) and password for Home Access***
- Race and Ethnicity in America, 2018
Examines the differences between minority groups and white Americans across the economic, political, and social spectrums.
***Requires GBS ID (number only) and password for Home Access***
Resource Icon Key
For instructions on accessing GBS Library Resources on this page marked with a key 
click on the right side of this image and scroll down:
Great Sources of High Quality Journalism
Great Sources of In-Depth Journalism
Pro Tip: If a particular study is discussed in an article, see if you can find the original research or a good summary of it; institutions will often post studies the studies and good summaries of their research on their official web sites.
- New York Times
Arguably the most influential paper in the U.S.
- Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
**Requires password for access. Click on the key icon for information. You must be logged into your GBS Google account to access the password sheet.** - The New Yorker
Weekly magazine known for its in-depth exploration of cultural, economic, and political issues. **See Flipster box at left for unlimited full text access** - The Atlantic
Excellent resource for in-depth coverage and analysis of social and political issues. **See Flipster box at left for unlimited full-text coverage** - Longreads
Longreads features the best storytelling on the web from hundreds of publishers. Includes fiction & nonfiction.
flipster
Includes TIME , The Atlantic, National Review and the New Yorker 
Requires GBS username (for students, ID number only) and password from home.
4000 West Lake Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60026 | Email:GBS LibGuides Administrator | Reference Desk: 847 486 4574